One of the biggest women’s football tournaments is taking place for the first time in Australia and New Zealand, and the organizers draw heavily on the indigenous cultures of the host countries to draw inspiration from its visual identity.

FIFA unveiled the logos and other marks of the Women’s World Cup 2023 – to be held in July and August 2023 – Thursday, October 28. According to, the logo incorporates as “the vibrant local landscapes and rich colors of the two hosts, building a palette based on the rainforests, land, mountains, cities and water of both countries.”

“A radial pattern featuring 32 colored squares – celebrating the new expansion in 32 participating countries, and an element commonly seen in the native cultures of Australia and New Zealand – is an important part of the design. “

Graphic courtesy Footy Titles

The tournament’s slogan, “Beyond Greatness,” was also unveiled on Thursday. The tournament graphics feature designs used by the indigenous cultures of Australia and New Zealand, paired with bright colors.

“Women’s football continues to grow and Beyond Greatness, the new slogan perfectly captures where FIFA wants to bring women’s football into the hearts and minds of football fans around the world,” said the FIFA General Secretary, Fatma Samoura. “The new brand identity beautifully reflects the tournament’s expansion from 24 to 32 teams and evokes the colors and diversity of the national team squads competing in the ultimate women’s football competition. We can’t wait for it to start!

In addition to the visuals, a “bespoke sound identity” was created for the tournament by musician and electronic producer Kelly Lee Owens.

“The unveiling of this dynamic and innovative brand is a key milestone for host countries on the road to 2023,” said Dave Beeche, CEO of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. “We are proud to see our Maori cultures and native Australian play a key role in the creation of this powerful and unique global brand. We believe this is a fitting symbol of our plans to host a tournament that will not only take players and fans beyond greatness, but continue the incredible momentum already underway in the growth of women’s sport and the world. gender equality. “

Host Cities (with their Indigenous names in parentheses) and Tournament Stadiums include:

  • Adelaide (Tarntanya), Australia – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland (Tāmaki Makaurau), New Zealand – Eden Park
  • Brisbane (Meaanjin), Australia – Brisbane Stadium
  • Dunedin (Ōtepoti), New Zealand – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton (Kirikiriroa), New Zealand – Waikato Stadium
  • Melbourne (Naarm), Australia – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth (Boorloo) Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney (Gadigal), Australia – Stadium Australia
  • Sydney (Gadigal), Australia – Sydney Football Stadium
  • Wellington (Te Whanganui-a-Tara), New Zealand – Wellington Stadium
Graphic courtesy Football Australia

Courtesy photo Air sports

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.