DEARBORN – Postponed from 2020, the annual induction and awards ceremony of the Automotive Hall of Fame, the premier institution for collecting, celebrating and sharing the history of the global automotive industry. the automobile, will take place on July 22, 2021 and will reward two winners of the Distinguished Service Citation and six winners of the Influencer Industry.

Distinguished Service Citation 2021 recipients

The Distinguished Service Citation recognizes individuals who have made a significant positive impact on the industry or their respective organizations. This year’s laureates are recognized for their work in the automotive sector to address two urgent and potentially deadly global challenges: responding to the COVID-19 pandemic and supporting the fight against racism and inclusion.

Sir Lewis Hamilton, professional driver, Formula 1
Hamilton’s talent and inspirational personality made him a role model and ambassador for his profession. He holds multiple records, including most wins in Formula 1, most wins with a single constructor, most consecutive points and most podiums., In addition to his record of wins, Hamilton receives the award. for using his platform to support anti-racism as a human rights issue on the global stage.

Ray Scott, CEO, Lear Corporation
Scott has held leadership positions at Lear Corp. over the past three decades, including his current role since 2018. He is responsible for the strategic direction and operational leadership of the company. In addition to being recognized as an industry leader, Scott is recognized for his work supporting the creation of the Safe Work Playbook and its widespread and magnanimous sharing across the industry.

2021 Industry Influencers Laureates

The Industry Influencer Award recognizes people who influence and lead through their actions, innovations and visible positions on issues relevant to the automotive industry and its future. They are admired by their peers and respected by key decision makers.

Jim Baumbick, Vice President, Management, Strategy and Corporate Product Line Planning, Ford Motor Company
Baumbick is recognized for his work in ensuring that Ford’s overall product strategy and planning is properly implemented; lead global product line teams to deliver products that customers want and value, and that drive end-to-end business results; and leading Ford’s Apollo Project in the fight against COVID-19.

Laurent Borne, President and Technical Director, Stoneridge

Borne’s work in developing the revolutionary commercial vehicle safety technology, the MirrorEye® camera surveillance system, and his continued leadership in advancing future vehicle technologies are accomplishments that have led to his award recipient status. .

Nelda J. Connors, Founder and CEO, Strategic Partner, Pine Grove Holdings, LLC
Connors is the winner for its success as a strategic partner providing exceptional financial, technical and operational expertise to diverse manufacturers, original equipment manufacturers (OEMs), suppliers and distributors.

Chris Ludwig, Vice President, EPIC Experience Team, HARMAN International
Ludwig is recognized for his work which leads to the vision and execution of the total in-car experience through sound, technology and design. His work on AKG branded audio systems with Cadillac and advanced feature subsystems in vehicles ultimately replaced the oldest branded audio partnership in the market.

Ben Volkow, CEO, Otonomo
Volkow is an award winner based on his work in creating the world’s pioneering vehicle data platform and marketplace for sharing and using data collected from connected transportation solutions.

Deborah Wahl, Director of Marketing, General Motors
Wahl is recognized for her vision of fostering cultural acceptance of electrification, the implementation of winning marketing strategies, and her efforts to bring more diverse representation within GM and its partner agencies.

“After having to postpone last year’s event due to COVID-19, we can’t wait to get back to our habit of celebrating the winners this summer,” said Sarah Cook, President of the Hall of Fame of the automobile. “This year’s winners, Distinguished Service Citation and Industry Influencer, continue the tradition of recognizing highly admired individuals at the forefront of their fields and who meet the challenges of future mobility.”

In addition to honoring the Distinguished Service Citation and Industry Influencer award winners, the annual event will honor Mobility Innovator winner Harold Goddijn, CEO of TomTom and member of its board of directors, as well as automotive Hall of Fame inductees. 2020/2021:

  • Honorary Chairman Mong-Koo Chung, the innovative leader and former chairman who made Hyundai / Kia the fifth largest car maker in the world and established the Hyundai brand as a brand known for its quality and reliability.
  • Thomas Gallagher, former president and chairman of Genuine Parts Corporation, who successfully championed the independent owner model of NAPA stores, promoting distribution models that kept stores competitive and rooted in their communities, and championing legislation on the right to repair
  • Jay Leno who captures generations of automotive enthusiasts with his passion for all things automotive
  • Helene Rother, one of the first female creators in the industry and at General Motors. Known for her impeccable taste in design, Rother shifted the postwar automotive market from interiors designed for utility to those designed for luxury and sophistication.

Event details

The Automotive Hall of Fame induction and awards ceremony will take place on July 22, 2021, on the Detroit River. For more details on the event and sponsorship information, please contact: Margarite Fourcroy at [email protected]

About the Automotive Hall of Fame

The Automotive Hall of Fame tells touching stories of those who have made outstanding contributions to the automotive industry. Founded in 1939, the Automotive Hall of Fame has honored 762 people from around the world, who have a big and big impact on the automotive and mobility industry. The Automotive Hall of Fame is located at 21400 Oakwood Blvd in Dearborn, Michigan and is open to the public for tours. You can also visit the Automotive Hall of Fame online at or on our Facebook and Instagram pages.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.